The Support to the Energy Sector in Five ACP Pacific Island Countries (REP-5) programme is a 9th European Development Fund (9th EDF) multi-country initiative which funds renewable energy and energy efficiency projects in five Pacific Island Countries. The project is executed by the Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat and implemented by a Programme Management Unit (PMU). The five targeted countries are:

  • Federated States of Micronesia (FSM)
  • Nauru
  • Niue
  • Palau
  • Republic of the Marshall Islands (RMI)

These five countries are the most recent signatories to the ACP-EC Partnership Agreement, signed in Cotonou in June 2000. The REP-5 programme aims at reducing these countries' dependence on imported fossil fuel as a means of achieving fiscal balance, as well as increasing the availability of electricity services to their outer island communities.

The PMU is responsible for managing the projects in each country. It has its headquarters in Suva, Fiji, and an office in Pohnpei, FSM. The PMU is run by a consortium lead by IT Power and including Transénergie and Ademe. The PMU was established in January 2006, and will continue to operate until the end of 2009. The PMU is also assisting the countries to identify renewable energy and energy efficiency projects for funding under the 10th EDF, due to begin in 2010, in order to improve continuity between the current and future projects funded by the European Union.

The total amount of funding allocated to REP-5 is € 12.38 million.